Aspect Ratio Image Sampler

I’ve written previously about my basic image sampler setup, and about how to make sure that your image sampler produces information with the proper aspect ratio. Both definitions were based on an initial grid of points, generated by ranges and domains. Today, I had a bit of trouble getting the definition to work for an image that was taller than it was wide. I’m still not sure what the problem was, exactly, but I found a work-around that I’m quite happy with. This image sampler sequence uses a referenced surface, with the same aspect ratio as the initial image, to generate a grid of points to be sampled. It’s a much cleaner definition, you can see:

Above is the old definition. Below is the new one.

Definition

UPDATE: Dividing the surface with Us and Vs simplifies quite a bit in the early stages of things, but as I move forward, I’m finding that it restructures all of the point data in quite a big way. I’ve got to wrap my brain around it first, but I’ll try to come back with some diagrams discussing the differences between the two approaches.

Leave a Reply

